New home

Today I knocked at the door of your heart in hope of surviving the post December cold. It took several knocks before you finally heard. I said, ‘Mine is too broke, I need a new home’. You said,’Find elsewhere dear lady, this place is full’. The cold sent shivers to my spine and I really knew no other way, so I dared to sneak into your house, your heart only to get drowned in an endless ocean, gasping for breath. Your heart I found was a jug filled to the brim, with things you left unsaid, with thoughts unseasoned, with fears unexpressed, with tears withheld. A tower with a thousand chambers.The locked chambers was where, your feelings lived like caged lions waiting to escape. By now I was thoroughly confused.. why was your heart fenced on all sides while mine had an open door? Mine was a cloud with a tap, I could pour it out on empty canvases and coffee mugs. Sometimes it drizzled, sometimes it rained.But yours was like a volcano waiting to erupt, an explosion I could hardly bear.I roamed and roamed trying to find a key to open all your locks, to empty all your chambers and make some space for me. The relentless night then told me that you threw the key long back to a place it could never return from. A new day arrived and my tired feet realised that the only shelter I needed was inside me.

2 thoughts on “New home

Leave a comment